UCEM Property Awards 2017: Past Property Award Winners

Posted on: 11 October, 2017

The 30th annual UCEM Property Awards take place in London tomorrow.

Having run through our nominees for both the UCEM Academic Excellence award and the UCEM Alumni of the Year award, our final blog ahead of the big day concerns the main prize – the UCEM Property Award.


Every year since 1987 (with the exception of 2012), UCEM has presented its Property Award to a person who, or an organisation which, has made an outstanding contribution to the property sector.

Property tycoon, Godfrey Bradman, was the inaugural winner of the Property Award and there has been a diverse range of recipients since that first year.

Previous Property Award recipients include: Sir Michael Latham – author of The Latham Report which transformed the modern construction industry; the National Trust; and our Patron, HRH The Prince of Wales.

Last year, Ros Kerslake OBE, the Chief Executive of the Heritage Lottery Fund, joined the illustrious list of winners, taking home the 29th Property Award for her continuing and excellent contribution to the Built Environment.

Below is a list of our Property Award recipients to date:

1987 Godfrey Bradman

1988 Norman Bowie

1989 Sir Nigel Mobbs LL

1990 John Clayton

1991 Sir Frank Layfield QC

1992 Peter Huntsman

1993 Sir Idris Pearce CBE

1994 Michael Mallinson CBE

1995 Michael Pattison CBE

1996 Sir Michael Latham

1997 Pen Kent CBE

1998 Honor Chapman CBE

1999 Alastair Ross Goobey CBE

2000 Sir Stuart Lipton

2001 Bernard Hunt

2002 Sir Christopher Howes KCVO CB

2003 Ian Henderson CBE

2004 Sir Christopher Benson

2005 Sir Martin Laing CBE

2006 Andrew Hamilton MVO

2007 National Trust

2008 Tom Bloxham MBE

2009 Professor Li Shirong

Ray O’Rourke

2010 Roger Madelin CBE

2011 HRH The Prince of Wales

2012 No Award

2013 Dr Ian Cullen

Rupert Nabarro OBE

2014 Professor Peter Wynne Rees

2015 Mike Slade

2016 Ros Kerslake OBE

The nominees

Unlike the Academic Excellence and Alumni of the Year awards, there isn’t a list of nominees.

The Property Award winner is selected by the UCEM Board of Trustees from suggestions made to them by peers within the industry over the course of the year.

So, as to who may win, your guess is as good as ours!

Stay updated

To find out who will take the award this year, keep up-to-date with our coverage of tomorrow’s event, with live posts going out on our Facebook, LinkedIn and Twitter accounts throughout the day.