Nominees announced for UCEM’s 31st Property Awards

Posted on: 20 September, 2018

The 12 nominees for two of the main prizes at UCEM’s 2018 Property Awards have been announced.

The annual awards ceremony – in its 31st year – will see one of six students take home the UCEM Academic Excellence Award, with six also being whittled down to one in the UCEM Alumni of the Year category.

Recent students JM Ruvindu Ruvan Bandara (BSc (Hons) Real Estate Management), Jonah Mastin (MSc Construction Management), David Mason (MSc Building Surveying), Jane Henshaw (MBA Construction and Real Estate), Nicholas Hosam (MSc Real Estate) and Holly Pullinger (MSc Real Estate) are nominated for the Academic Excellence Award. This recognises the academic excellence and quality of students’ research and dissertation submissions.

Nominated for the Alumni of the Year award are: Lucy Winzer (BSc (Hons) Real Estate), Sobha Rani (MBA Construction and Real Estate), Gavin Ferraris (Postgraduate Diploma in Surveying), Nicola Dixon-Brown (Postgraduate Diploma in Surveying), Mohamed Humdhan Nahuman Batcha (BSc Quantity Surveying) and Manal Abdo (Postgraduate Diploma in Surveying). The alumni accolade goes to a former UCEM student who has made an outstanding contribution in their early career towards creating a better Built Environment.

UCEM Principal, Ashley Wheaton, commented: “Once again, I am inspired by the personal stories of student success and wider achievements of our alumni which have been recognised by the nominations for these prestigious prizes.

“All 12 nominees have demonstrated excellence, whether in academia or in industry, and it will be incredibly difficult selecting the outstanding candidate in each category. The UCEM Property Awards ceremony is a firm favourite of the institution’s calendar and I look forward to welcoming all the nominees and invited guests to another wonderful occasion.”

In addition to the Academic Excellence and Alumni of the Year prizes, there will also be the presentation of the main Property Award which goes to a person who, or an organisation which, has made an outstanding contribution to the property sector. Past winners of this prestigious award include Sir Michael Latham – author of The Latham Report which transformed the modern construction industry; the National Trust; and our Patron, HRH The Prince of Wales.

The 2018 UCEM Property Awards take place in London on Thursday, 11 October. Follow our social media channels on Facebook, LinkedIn and Twitter for more as we build up to the event of the autumn!